Copy
October 22, 2020
View this email in your browser

Reconciliation and Indigenous Justice News from
The United Church of Canada

October 22, 2020
 

United Church Supports M’ikmaq Treaty Rights




Regional Council 15, which has a long history of solidarity with Indigenous peoples asserting their treaty rights, is asking the rest of the church to join them in honouring the Peace and Friendship Treaty of 1752 as Mi’kmaq lobster fishers exercising their treaty right to a fishery are confronted with racism and violence.

Moderator Richard Bott and Indigenous Ministries Executive Minister Murray Pruden have responded with a letter to the church which says in part that “As a church that has repudiated colonial doctrines and committed itself to Indigenous rights, to the ongoing work of building right relations, and to opposing racism in all of its forms, we cannot remain silent.” 

Regional Council 15 is also asking for prayers from across the church.

On Friday 23 October, a small interfaith delegation will visit Mi’kmaq community members in Saulnierville NS. In the face of the violence, vandalism, and tension that the Mi’kmaq people have experienced, the purpose of this visit is to listen, show support, and share prayers for peace and healing.   

Individuals and communities of faith are invited to share in this action by taking a moment for prayer at 2 p.m. (Atlantic) on Friday, October 23. That’s 2:30 p.m. NL, 1:00 p.m. EDT, 12:00 p.m. CT, 11:00 a.m. MT, 10:00 a.m. PT.

Region 15 has prepared this Prayer for Peace and Healing for your use.

[Photo: A Mi’kmaq drummer pauses during a prayer, Saulnierville, NS. Credit: THE CANADIAN PRESS/Andrew Vaughan]
Facebook
Facebook
Twitter
Twitter
Website
Website
Email
Email
Instagram
Instagram
YouTube
YouTube
Donate to The United Church of Canada and help fund life changing work around the world!

Copyright © 2020 The United Church of Canada, All rights reserved.


unsubscribe from all    update subscription preferences