Register today!

Research Administrators' Network
(RAN) Meeting via Zoom!

Wednesday, October 28, 2021
2:00 p.m. - 3:30 p.m.

You must register in order to receive a personal link to the Zoom meeting. 

Our Guest Emcees:
Jennifer Huntington, Melissa Karby, and Patrick Lagua

These three chairs of our Research Administration Advisory Council (RAAC) subcommittees will host our October RAN event! They will share key aspects of RAAC efforts for the research administration (RA) community and introduce our featured presentations. 
               Jennifer Huntington  Patrick Lagua

Jennifer Huntington
Research Program Manager (Ross School of Business), Chair of RAAC Metrics Subcommittee
Melissa Karby
Assistant Director for Research-Sponsored Projects (OVPR), Chair of RAAC Process Subcommittee
Patrick Lagua
Director of Research Administration (School of Dentistry), Chair of RAAC Training Subcommittee
We are thrilled to have them as a special part of our October RAN meeting.

Featured Presentations

The October RAN meeting will focus on the free high-speed U-M Research Computing Package (MRCP) available through the Advanced Research Computing (ARC), the enhancements to the Award Change Request (ACR) that will automate the "paper" PACR for collecting and routing approvals, and Slack as a new platform for the RA Forum. We are excited to present these topics to you, and hope you will join us on October 28!

U-M High-Speed Research Computing PackageBrock Palen

Brock Palen
Director of Advanced Research Computing, Technology Services
Brock will present the free high-speed computing package (UMRCP) available through Advanced Research Computing (ARC) to faculty and the research community.


Carolyn PappasAward Change Request (ACR) Enhancements

Carolyn Pappas
ERP Business Systems Analyst Lead and Acting BSA Supervisor, ITS
Carolyn will present the enhancements to the Award Change Request (ACR) that will automate the "paper" PACR for collecting and routing approvals.


RA Forum on Slack
Constance Colthorp

Becky O'Brien

Constance Colthorp
Communications Manager
ORSP and Sponsored Programs
Becky O'Brien
Director of Research Administration
School of Information

Constance and Becky will present our new Research Administrators' (RA) Forum on Slack.

Standard Updates

ORSP, ITS, and Sponsored Program Updates

We'll also hear from Andrea Anderson (Associate Director of Research and Sponsored Projects), Carolyn Pappas, and Debbie Talley (Director of Sponsored Programs) who will relay updates from the Office of Research & Sponsored Projects, ITS, and Sponsored Programs.

Immediately after the RAN meeting, we will transition to the Research Staff Recognition Awards. This year's recipients are featured below.

2021 U-M Office of Research
Staff Recognition Awards

Ceremony immediately following in the same Zoom meeting from 3:30 p.m. – 5:00 p.m.
2021 Research Admin Awardees

Four staff members are recognized for their outstanding service to the research community. Please join us to honor these exceptional staff members.
  • April Pepperdine will receive the Exceptional Service Award 
  • Becky O’Brien will receive this year’s Research Administrator Recognition Award.
  • David Paris and Caleb Smith each will receive the Research Technical Staff Recognition Award.

So, don't forget!

Registration is required

Thank you!

The Research Administration Advisory Council (RAAC)
Communications Subcommittee

Copyright © 2021 University of Michigan, All rights reserved.

unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences 

Email Marketing Powered by Mailchimp