View this email in your browser
Election Day is Tuesday, November 6!
There are many important races on the ballot this year, so be sure to take a look at your local ballot before you head to the polls!  View your sample ballot online through the SC Election Commission. 
The Race for SC Governor
The November 6 election marks the first time South Carolina’s candidates for governor and lieutenant governor will run as a team.  Governor Henry McMaster (R) and his running mate Pamela Evette will face Rep. James Smith (D) and his running mate, Rep. Mandy Powers Norrell in Tuesday’s election.
Races to Watch
While there are many statewide and local races, these are a few that SCFOR is watching, especially since a couple of these races will directly impact the makeup of the SC Senate in the coming year. 

Congressional District 1
Katie Arrington (R) and Joe Cunningham (D) continue to battle it out for this Lowcountry Congressional seat that has been held by Mark Sanford. Arrington defeated Sanford in the June Republican Primary.

Congressional District 4
Republican Senator William Timmons will face Democrat Brandon Brown and American Party candidate Guy Furay in the 4th Congressional District. The seat was vacated by Congressman Trey Gowdy, who is not seeking re-election. The district covers most of Greenville and Spartanburg counties. 

SC Senate District 20
Benjamin Dunn (R) and Dick Harpootlian (D) will face off in a special election to fill the seat vacated by Republican Senator John Courson who was indicted earlier this year. The seat was held by Courson for decades and so it will be interesting to see if this seat flips on Tuesday.  This district includes portions of Richland and Lexington Counties. 
Who Has Opposition in the SC House of Representatives?
Local Ballot Initiatives:  Beaufort County
Will Beaufort County residents pass a penny tax to improve roads and bridges in the county?  The Island Packet did a great overview of the tax earlier this week. Read the story here.  Efforts to pass a penny tax in 2016 failed; however, many groups are hopeful that voters will approve the referendum this year. 
Thank you to everyone who attended our 2018 Annual Meeting on Tuesday, October 23 at the Capital City Club in Columbia, SC.  We would also like to extend a big THANK YOU to our generous sponsors because without your support, this event would not have been possible. 

This year’s annual meeting served as a forum to bring together our state transportation officials as well as representatives from business advocacy organizations from both the state and national levels to discuss progress, trends, and challenges. 

Secretary of Transportation Christy Hall provided a great overview of the progress that has been made over the past year and how the agency is working to strategically tackle infrastructure issues.  A copy of her presentation can be downloaded here.

Carolyn Kramer (American Road & Transportation Builders Association) provided some interesting data and insights on how other states are addressing infrastructure funding, the impacts these efforts have on elections, as well as nationwide trends. A copy of her presentation can be downloaded here.

SCDOT Commissioner Robby Robbins clarified the role of the SCDOT Commission and improved awareness about the working relationship between the SCDOT Commission and the leadership of SCDOT.

Jake Cashion led the NC Chamber’s 2015 legislative campaign to successfully pass the state’s first comprehensive funding and reform bill since 1989.  He addressed the benefits and challenges that come post-legislative success and how North Carolina is continuing to make infrastructure a priority.

Based on the presentations, it is clear that South Carolina is making progress and SCFOR looks forward to working with transportation officials and the legislature in the coming years to keep the state moving forward – full speed ahead!

Thank you to all of our members who have renewed to date.  

If you did not receive your renewal in the mail or have questions about your invoice, please contact Jennifer Patterson at or (803)417-6256.
2018 Newsletter Archive
Copyright © 2018 South Carolina Alliance to Fix Our Roads, All rights reserved.

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list.