Service stations - BCA class

The ESC have clarified the classification of a Service Station (BCA Class 6) for all Activity 34 Commercial lighting projects. Not all premises providing servicing, maintenance and repairs of vehicles should be classed as a service station under BCA Class 6.

Effective: 21st Feb 2017

A service station only applies to:
  • premises that sell petrol and have an area for servicing motor vehicles
  • car dealerships with an area for servicing vehicles.
A service station does NOT apply to:

premises that ONLY provide automotive service, repair and maintenance, eg mechanic workshops, panel beaters, tyre replacement businesses.

These business may be classified as BCA Class 8 - Buildings (other than Div C Manufacturing).

Why is this important?

The BCA class directly affects the rebate value as the operating hours vary from one class to another.


  • BCA Class 6 = 5,000 hrs
  • BCA Class 8 (Other than Div C) = 3,000 hrs

What should you do?

When quoting jobs, please ensure you classify these types of premises correctly, otherwise the rebate value may be incorrect.

If you are unsure, please call us to clarify.
Copyright © 2017 Ecovantage, All rights reserved.

unsubscribe from this list    update subscription preferences