AASAS October 2015  E-Newsflash

View this email in your browser

#IBelieveYou Campaign Update


Now that we are entering October, and the big rush of the #IBelieveYou campaign is winding down, we want to give our community partners an update on campaign progress. This will inform you of how #IBelieveYou has achieved awareness of the issue of sexual assault and sexual abuse in our Province. 


Thunderclap Update


We have completed our Thunderclap goal of 497!!! The final number of pledges that we received was 605 of 497, with 121% of our goal supported, and a social reach of 517,769 individuals/organizations. According to Thunderclap, 500 pledges is quite an ambitious goal, so we are very pleased to have reached it. 

Social Media Update

With the release of our Thunderclap Message on September 30th, #IBelieveYou had a high amount of social media recognition. Every day, we are still seeing tweets on Twitter about the campaign with people showing their support for survivors of sexual assault to be believed. 


On Twitter, our followers more than doubled. Overall, AASAS received well over a million tags, tweets, and retweets about the #IBelieveYou campaign from various individuals and organizations. Locally, in Alberta, some of our bigger supporters have been Alberta Primetime, Alberta Civil Liberty Research Center, and Global Edmonton. Nationally, in Canada, we have had Twitter support from the Canadian Women Foundations, Premier Kathleen Wynn of Ontario, Brett Wilson and Yahoo Canada News. As for international support, United Nations Women tweeted about the campaign and Huffington Post wrote an article that spread across social media. 


Alberta Post-Secondary Campuses Update


Almost all of the 23 post-secondary campuses have completed hosting their #IBelieveYou booth days. There has been positive feedback from those that ran the booths. AASAS ordered 10,000 stickers and 10,000 tattoos but had to order more half way through September as the demand for them continued to increase. We would like to give recognition to the following post-secondaries and sexual assault centers/services who partnered to host booths throughout the month of September:  


  • Medicine Hat Sexual Assault Response Committee
    • Medicine Hat College
  • Sexual Violence Action Committee
    • Lethbridge College
    • Lethbridge University
  • Calgary Communities Against Sexual Abuse
    • Bow Valley College
    • Mount Royal University (3 days)
    • Alberta College of Art and Design (ACAD)
    • Southern Alberta Institute of Technology (SAIT)
    • St. Mary’s University College
  • Central Alberta Sexual Assault Support Centre
    • Olds College
    • Red Deer College
    • Maskwacis College
  • Lloydminster Sexual Assault & Information Center
    • Vermillion Lakeland 
    • Lloydminster Lakeland
  • Sexual Assault Centre of Edmonton
    • Concordia University 
    • NorQuest College
    • MacEwan University
    • The Kings University College
    • Northern Alberta Institute of Technology (NAIT)
  • University of Alberta Sexual Assault Center
    • University of Alberta (5 Days)
  • Dragonfly Counselling and Support Centre: Sexual Assault Services
    • Portage College
  • PACE Sexual Assault Centre
    • Grand Prairie College
  • Fort McMurray Family Crisis Soceity: Sexual Assault Program
    • 2 Days at Keyano College 


Many sexual assault centers, including Association for Communities Against Abuse in Stettler, will be taking the #IBelieveYou booths to high schools. Thank you for keeping the campaign live and active in local communities! 



Thank You!

We would like to thank all of you for the support you have given to the #IBelieveYou campaign. Without the help from our partners, we firmly believe that this campaign would not have been as successful. Below are photos from the media event at SAIT and other local representatives demonstrating their support!

AASAS Awards Honorary Membership to Pioneering leaders of the Sexual Assault Sector in Alberta


(pictured here L-R: Karen Smith, Executive Director of the Sexual Assault Centre of Edmonton and Lisa Oracheski, President of the Board of Directors for the Association of Alberta Sexual Assault Services)


AASAS was pleased to accept a motion at our 2014-2015 Annual General Meeting to award Honorary Membership to three remarkable pioneering leaders, retired or retiring, of the sexual assault sector in Alberta:


Dianne Howarth, Central Alberta Sexual Assault Support and Information Centre 

Muriel Ralston, Lloydminster Sexual Assault Centre 

Karen Smith, Sexual Assault Centre of Edmonton


These pioneers contributed to the establishment sexual assault services in Alberta.  Their passion and commitment has positively impacted countless lives.  We thank them for their service to Alberta with this small token of our appreciation.

Copyright © 2015 AASAS, All rights reserved.

Our mailing address is:

Want to change how you receive these emails?
You can
update your preferences or unsubscribe from this list